It Appears I Did Some Actual Damage This Time

I watched the end of Who Framed Roger Rabbit last night, and it was still as terrifying as when I was two.

Most of the reason that the end of that movie scared me was that the main bad guy got squished by a steam roller and came back to life in the most frightening way possible. My fiance agreed that he was indeed nightmare fuel, and I told him the story of going to Disney World when I was three and going to a live stage show themed after the movie. There was a figure of the villain on the wall, and I watched it the whole time, so scared that it was going to come alive. Obviously it didn’t.

But my imagination does like to run away with me, and this hasn’t gotten any better as I’ve reached adulthood. For an app like Zombies, Run!, imagination is key to really getting immersed in the story. My mission last night was “A Voice in the Dark” (squee) and I decided to change up my route to go along with the spirit of the plot.

I swear I wasn’t gonna actually run on any non-paved ground, or keep going. I was going to turn around before I reached the really busy road that runs in front of my neighborhood. But once I saw the stretch of grass and dirt and roots and the farmland, and knowing that there was a wide expanse of grass and other ground that would allow me to keep a safe distance from the road and still run, I took off down that way and even ran a good bit.

Right at the start, I directly caught a dip in the ground and rolled my right ankle.

And despite the rather obvious pull and stiffness on the outside of my right leg, kept going.

So right now, I’m dealing with this nice little burn in that muscle (and some soreness if I flex, plus a nice sudden cramp last night) and the ankle joint hurts a little.

But if it’s swollen at all, it’s only a little bit, and I can put weight on it and walk normally. I have no idea what I did. I actually did do something, and it hurt then and hurts a little now, and I know a little better than to “push through the pain” when it’s something other than muscle soreness.

But I finished, and pushed on through to doing five actual kilometers in 42ish minutes. Yes, that’s slow, and bear in mind that I was walking at certain points. Still, I’m happy, if sore.

I seriously cannot get enough of this running thing.

Leave a comment